KWSO News – Mon., Dec. 31, 2018

Highway 26 over Mount Hood was closed for about 3 hours last night from winter weather, vehicle accidents and heavy traffic made up of holiday travelers and skiers. ODOT diverted traffic around Mt. Hood for a time and urged motorists to use another route.  A seven-mile stretch of the highway was closed by about 6:30 p.m., from Government Camp to Frog Lake.   In addition, state Highway 35 was blocked northbound from Highway 26.  The roads reopened by around 9:30 p.m., though ODOT warned of continued congestion.

Fishery managers say commercial fishermen in parts of Oregon and Washington state will finally be able to set their Dungeness crab gear on Tuesday. The Daily Astorian reports fishermen can begin pulling their gear on Friday. The lucrative commercial fishery traditionally starts Dec. 1. But the fishery was delayed this year after tests showed crab had not filled out enough.

At the Summit Holiday Basketball Tournament in Bend – the Madras Girls went 2 for 3 beating Eatonville and Thurston after dropping their opening game to Ridgeview.  The boys beat Ridgeview 105-68 but dropped their two other contests to: South Eugene and Thurston.  The boys host Mt View this Friday Night and KWSO will broadcast that game live here on 91.9 FM.

Results from the 55th Annual Warm Springs Indian Mens Holiday Basketball Tournament held this past weekend at the Warm Springs Community Center

Champions:  Warm Springs
Runner Ups:  United Tribes
3rd Place:      NW Hoopers – Celilo
4th Place:      Team Flight (WSO)

MVP:    Terrance Two Two, Warm Springs
Mr. Hustle: Dru Allen, NW Hoopers – Celilo
High Scorer:  Sheldon Leonard, Tribesman (33 points)
Top Rebounder:  Terrance Two Two

All Tourney:
Zach Aguilar                   Warm Springs
Darius Jackson.             United Tribes
Darrin Six.                       Warm Springs
Roman Hutt.                   United Tribes
Dru Allen.                        NW Hoopers – Celilo
Damean Frank.               Team Flight
Shelbert Chasing Crow  NW Hoopers -Celilo
J’Von Smith.                    Team Flight
Lawrence Spino.              Ish-Gee-Looksh
Galen Northrup.               Tribesman
Dylan George.                  Medicine Society