KWSO News 5/8/19

Across Oregon today, supporters of public education are coming together for a “Day of Action.” These events look different in each community. Jefferson County Schools has an after-school rally planned. Families are invited to join for an afternoon of solidarity in support of education. The rally will promote smaller class size, increased health and safety services, like counseling and nurses, more learning time, more available classes and elective choices and expanded enrichment programs. They will gather at Sahalee Park at 3:30. The rally is at 3:45 and they will march through downtown Madras at 4:00. Everyone is encouraged to wear the color red today in support of education. The event will coincide with the Oregon Education Association “Day of Action” to protest the state’s failure to provide adequate and stable funding for K-12 education. Hundreds of Oregon schools are closing today where teachers have planned walkouts.

The Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs learned this week that it has been awarded 501(c)(3) non-profit status for the Warm Springs Community Development Organization. The application process has been lengthy – it was started two and a half years ago, according to the Spilyay Tymoo. This is welcome news as the Tribes continue to struggle financially. The benefits include eligibility for public and private grants, the ability to offer tax deductions for charitable contributions and tax exemption status. Read the story on the front page in the latest edition of the Spilyay Tymoo.

Ballots have been mailed out for the May 21st Special District Election. The Jefferson County School District 509-J has two positions up for vote. Position 4 candidates are Casandra Moses and Courtney Snead. Position 5 candidates are Carina Miller, Taylor Lark and Kevin Richards. You can learn about each candidate this week on KWSO’s Warm Springs Program. It’s airing throughout the day this week and is also accessible on under the programming tab, click on podcasts. Jefferson County is also voting on a 3-year jail operating levy.